Overview of Minnesota's Levels of DWI Charges: Fourth Degree DWI
The Fourth Degree DWI is classified as a misdemeanor. Anyone operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated can be charged and convicted of a Fourth Degree DWI if that person has had no prior DUI violations within the last ten years. Additionally, there must be no aggravating factors involved, and the driver cannot have refused chemical testing of the blood, breath or urine. This is the least serious DWI charge a State of Minnesota driver can face.
If convicted, a person with a Fourth Degree DWI can receive a sentence of up to 90 days in jail, license suspension for up to 90 days and a fine of up to $1,000. A Minnesota criminal defense lawyer can help to negotiate a lower penalty and/or reduced sentence.
Keywords: Minnesota Fourth Degree DWI, MN Fourth Degree DWI, Minneapolis Fourth Degree DWI.
Want expert advice from an experienced Minnesota DWI Lawyer? Fill in the boxes below and hit submit to get a quick answer to your problem.